Theoretical Physics Division

Institute of High Energy Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Home | Chinese Version


The Theoretical Physics Division of IHEP is one of the most active research centers in China. It covers a broad range of research areas in nuclear physics, particle physics, astrophysics and cosmology. It is also one of the top places providing excellent postgraduate education and research trainings to young theorists.

Historically, the Theoretical Physics Division was established as a successful marriage of the theoretical physics groups of the Institute of Modern Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences (1950-1956) and China Institute of Atomic Energy (1956-1973). Many renowned Chinese theoretical physicists, such as Deng Jia-Xian, Peng Huan-Wu, Hu Ning, Yu Min, Zhu Hong-Yuan, Huang Zu-Qia and He Zuo-Xiu, had been affiliated with it and had made great contributions to the development of Chinese modern physics.

Today, the Theoretical Physics Division is establishing itself as an internationally recognized group where people are working on many topical subjects and frontiers of high energy physics, nuclear physics and cosmology. It has, in particular, made a lot of important theoretical contributions to the experiments done at the Beijing Electron-Positron Collider (BEPC).

Due to its distinguished performance, the Theoretical Physics Division was listed as one of the first priorities in the innovation project of Chinese Academy of Sciences.


Theoretical Physics Divison of the Institute of High Energy Physics,CAS. All Rights Reserved .